Answer to a Rules Question

So the bunkers are all washed out.  The rules committee has decided to play them as GROUND UNDER REPAIR, giving a player the option of a free drop, no closer to the hole, outside of the bunker.  

The question that came up was….  Do you still post your score if you are playing a course where all the bunkers are GROUND UNDER REPAIR?
It’s one of those questions that really get the rules guys at the Carolinas Golf Association excited because the answer is so….  interesting.  
The first question that Michael Dann asked me when I brought this up was, “How many bunkers did you go in?”   
You see, this is a personal decision, rather than a blanket decision as to posting your scores.  The handicap manual is fairly clear in determining when and how a golfer should post scores.  Some golfers may go into 8-12 bunkers in a round of golf.  These golfers have a great case for NOT posting their tournament round for the day…..  Most golfers will go into 4 or less of our bunkers, and therefore THE MAJORITY of the holes that they played are under normal conditions…. These golfers SHOULD post their scores.  
Great question, interesting answer.  Fortunately, our grounds crew was able to get to most of the bunkers before the weekend tournament began, so our golfers were advised to DEFINITELY post their scores…. 
So, would you ADJUST your score based on your handicap on the holes where you hit into unplayable bunkers?   
GO PLAY GOLF! Stop THINKING golf swing!  Best,  

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>